

# KILDARE NORTH CONSTITUENCY

# LOCAL ELECTORAL AREA BOUNDARY COMMISSION SUBMISSION

The County of Kildare has at present 5 Electoral Areas which elected 40 Councillors to Kildare County Council. The Electoral Areas are split between two Constituencies namely Kildare North which forms part of the Dublin Commuter belt along with some rural area to the North West. The Constituency of Kildare South is rural in nature but has a large urban centre in and around Newbridge.

There are presently three Electoral Areas which are situated in the Kildare North Constituency namely

- (a) Celbridge/Leixlip Municipal District
- (b) Maynooth Municipal District
- (c) Naas Municipal District

The Strategy Committee of the Kildare North Constituency have reviewed each of the Electoral areas and in accordance with the terms of reference of the Local Electoral Boundary Commission would make the following recommendations in respect of each of the electoral areas.

#### **ANALYSIS**

#### **CELBRIDGE/LEIXLIP MUNICIPAL DISTRICT (7 Seats)**

The Electoral Area of Celbridge/Leixlip has a total population of 37,486 based on the 2016 Census.

This Electoral Area contains the towns of Celbridge and Leixlip both situated to the North East of the County. The Regional Planning Guidelines for the Great Dublin Area designate Leixlip as a large growth town and Celbridge as a moderate growth town. In the 1980s, Leixlip with its easy access to Dublin, contributed in attracting large multinationals to the town. Companies like Intel employ 4,500 at its plant. Under the Kildare County Development Plan 2010-2022 large growth towns play a key role in sustaining the wider local community.

The Town of Celbridge is a moderate sustainable growth town in the Metropolitan area of Dublin. The town is part of the North Kildare Economic Growth cluster and is linked to the primary growth town of Leixlip and thus Celbridge will continue to benefit from its proximity to Leixlip

In view of the above and applying the terms of reference as laid down by the Local Electoral Boundary Commission it is recommended that this municipal district remain unchanged.

#### **MAYNOOTH MUNICIPAL DISTRICT (9 Seats)**

The present Electoral Area of Maynooth is one of the largest electoral Areas in County Kildare which has a total population of 50,842 as per 2016 census. In view of the size and geographical spread of the district i.e. Straffan in the North East and Carbury in the North West, and in accordance with the terms of reference of Local Electoral Area Boundary Commission it is proposed that this Municipal District be divided into two new Municipal Districts each with 5 seats which would take account of the natural boundaries and community identities.

It is recommended that the two new Electoral Areas would be as follows:-

#### MAYNOOTH DISTRICT (5 Seats)

This new area would contain the areas of Straffan, Maynooth, Kilcock and Cloncurry.

The Regional Planning Guidelines 2010-2022 designate Maynooth as a large growth town which acts as an important self-sustaining region. The town of Maynooth is identified as a primary economic growth town for local and regional development, the town of Kilcock as a moderate growth town with Cloncurry being part of the rural area of Kilcock contained within the same parish. Straffan is designated as a village. The town of Kilcock is situated 33km west of Dublin Centre., Its close proximity to Maynooth is a significant asset which continues to influence much of the life and commercial life in the town. Likewise the close proximity of Straffan to Maynooth will also have a knock on effect.

#### **CLANE DISTRICT (5 Seats)**

It is recommended that the electoral divisions of Donadea, Balraheen, Ballynadrummy, Cadamstown, Dunfierth, Kilrainy, Carrick, Carbury, Kilpatrick, Windmill Cross, Drehid, Timahoe North, Timahoe South, Downings, Clane, which were formerly in the Maynooth Municipal District, be transferred into a new Clane Electoral Area, and that the electoral divisions of Lullymore, Kilmeage North and Robertstown (formerly in the Kildare Newbride Municipal District) be transferred into the new Clane Electoral Area.

Under the Regional Planning Guidelines 2010-2022 the town of Clane is designated as a small town. The County Development Plan 2010-2022 acknowledges that small towns generally comprise populations of between 1,500 to 5,000 with relatively small local financial and retail businesses. The town has grown over the last number of years and will benefit as result of its close proximity to Maynooth and Leixlip. The future growth of the town will also have a knock on effect to its surrounding environs which are mostly rural in nature.

#### **NAAS MUNICIPAL DISTRICT (9 Seats)**

The Electoral Area of Naas is at present contained in two Dáil Constituencies Kildare North and Kildare South. Approximately one third of the Naas electoral area in geographic terms falls within Kildare North Constituency with the remainder falling within the South Kildare Constituency. The No of seats at present is 9. The population per Census 2016 49,278.

In accordance with the terms of reference of the Local Electoral Boundary Commission, it is recommended that this electoral be reduced to a 7 seater, to contain the following areas, Bodenstown, Oughterard, Kill, Kilteel, Naas Rural, Naas Urban, Rathmore, Newtown, Killashee and Ballymore Eustace. The recommendations offer a degree of alignment with the Dáil Constituency boundaries and significantly improve on the level of alignment that obtained previously.

The Region Planning Guidelines 2010-2022 designate Naas as a large growth town which acts as an important self-sustaining region and the surrounding environs will continue to benefit from their proximity to Naas.

#### **RECOMMENDATIONS**

- (1) Celbridge/Leixlip District no change
- (2) Maynooth District splt into districts: Maynooth with 5 seats and Clane with 5 seats
- (3) Naas District realigned and a new 7 seater created.

#### **Enclosures:**

- (A) Documentation enclosing showing analysis of each District
- (B) Area map

### (A) Proposed LEAs:

LEA	Celbridge-Leixlip		Maynooth		Clane		Naas	
Electoral Divisions	Leixlip	15,576	Maynooth	15,998	Donadea	793	Bodenstown	4,940
	Donaghcumper	6,257	Straffan	2,035	Balraheen	2,403	Oughterard	743
	Celbridge	15,653	Kilcock	6,930	Ballynadrumny	576	Kill	4,692
			Cloncurry	1,571	Cadamstown	1,414	Kilteel	571
					Dunfierth	733	Naas Rural	2,739
					Kilrainy	753	Naas Urban	21,597
					Carrick	290	Rathmore	1,142
					Carbury	1,913	Newtown	920
					Kilpatrick	871	Killashee	265
					Windmill Cross	1,182	Ballymore Eustace	1,517
					Drehid	270		
					Timahoe South	845		
					Timahoe North	1,161		
					Downings	2,962		
					Clane	8,142		
					Lullymore	187		
					Kilmeage North	2,256		
					Robertstown	1,983		
	Population	37,486		26,534		28,734		39,126
	Seats	7		5		5		7
	Population/Seat	5,355		5,307		5,747		5,589
	Variance	-3.7%		-4.6%		3.3%		0.5%

## (B) Proposed LEAs - mapped

